Skip to Content


The Department of Political Science offers a graduate program of studies leading to a master of arts (MA), master of science (MS), and doctor of philosophy (PhD) degrees. The program is designed to prepare students for teaching, research, and government or other public service jobs, and to enable them to understand and participate in public affairs.

Members of the faculty offer advanced courses and seminars across the major fields of political science (see Fields of Focus). Graduate student participation in joint faculty-student research and interdepartmental research projects is common on a wide range of topics.

Our graduate program admits between 5 and 10 new students each year with approximately 40 students in the program at any one time. Recent PhD graduates have taken tenure-track positions at places like Northern Arizona University, the University of Alaska, Whittier College, North Carolina State University, SUNY Stonybrook, the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and Shanghai University of Finance and Economics. See our PhDs on the Market & Placement page for other PhD graduate placements.

Skip to toolbar